Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Comune di Carugate

Comune di Carugate

The no oficial Carugate page on the Web STATISTICS: Le statistiche di questa pagina (solo in spagnolo)
Italiano - English - Français - Deutsch - Español - Português - Esperanto

History of Carugate

In the historical section of the Municipal Archives is conserved a document of 1922 called "Il Comune di Carugate, cenni storici per la concessione dello stemma comunale" (The Comune di Carugate, historical notes for the concession of the communal coat of arms). We will look to the historical facts that have interested our city starting with this document.
The village of Carugate is mentioned for the first time in the document of King Enrico III of Germany confirmed to favor of the members of the San Dionigi di Milano all assets that Archbishop Ariberto di Intimiano had left to they.
At the end of XI century was founded between Brugherio and Carugate the "Monastero di Sant'Ambrogio".
In the XIX century a registration dated 1098 came uncovered on the arc of a small door of the old monastery that indicates the date of foundation.
In 1362, the members of Sant'Ambrogio joined to Umiliate di Santa Caterina in Borgo Rancate outside Porta Nuova di Milano (New Door of Milan) and later they moved to Santa Caterina alla Chiesa (1539).
Since the remote times, Carugate had on its territory two churches (and the old monastery): the Sant'Andrea and the Santa Maria churches.
In a document dated 3 May 1392, Carugate was granted with Pessano, Santa Maria alla Molgora, Cascine Valera e Bornago to Ettore, son of Bernabò Visconti and its descendants.
The son of the Duca of Milan Gian Galeazzo Visconti, Gianmaria, obtained from his cousin, Donnina Visconti, the control on the castle of Pessano and some assets in Valera, Santa Maria alla Molgora, Bornago and Carugate
In 1530 for fiscal reasons was made the first census and description of Carugate.
According to a registration in Casa Ghirlanda, Enrico III, King of France, visited Carugate in 1575, when he was returning from Poland, where he left the reign to be the King of France.
At the end of XVIII century Carugate and Cassina Imperiale were sold by the Spanish Government to Aurelia Besozzi for the price of 45 Lire for fire (family) and 100 Lire for every 3 Lire of income, 3710 Lire in total. The possession started at 1 April 1691.
Carugate had a strongly demographic expansion in the XVIII century, with 756 inhabitants according to a census.
An important statistic survey was made by the Austrian Government. According to the census, started in 1770 and finished in 1784, Carugate had nearly 670 inhabitants, with the maximum of 756 inhabitants in 1782.
But these data was not trustful, and in 1802 the number of inhabitants was changed out to 997.
With the increase of the population yields necessary the widening of the parochial church. Antonio Conti provided 6000 Lire with a contribution of Conte Giulini. But it needed more money to finish the works and it made a discussion with the accouting officce resolved in 1824.
New census went up the number of inhabitants to 1,200 (1812), 1,500 (1854), 1,632 (1857), 1,732 (1862), 1,794 (1865) and 10,811 in the last census, in 1991.


Copyright (C) 1998 Tiago Tresoldi